Live Webcast About Contact Careers News
System Diversity

2/21/2013 - Jackson, Miss.

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher Learning recently held its Diversity celbration by recognizing campus and community leaders for the impact they have made in advancing diversity and encouraging understanding and respect. Former Mississippi Governor William F. Winter received the Community Leader Award for his lifetime of service to the state and nation and his commitment to education improvement and racial reconciliation. Dr. Kathie Stromile Golden, Director of International Programs and Professor of Political Science at Mississippi Valley State University, was named the 2013 Diversity Educator of the Year.

“The Board of Trustees is honored to recognize Governor Winter and his tremendous contributions made to Mississippi and the nation,” said Trustee Dr. Doug Rouse, Chair of the Diversity Committee. “His work to improve education and bring Mississippians of all races together will impact our state for generations to come. We are equally pleased to recognize those on our university campuses, like Dr. Golden, who demonstrate a personal and professional commitment to encouraging diversity on campus and work extremely hard to help all students succeed.”

Working through its Diversity Recognition Committee, chaired by Doug Rouse, the Board selects one individual as the Educator of the Year and one individual as the Community Leader Honoree. Other Trustees serving on the committee include Trustee Karen Cummins, Trustee Bob Owens, Trustee Alan Perry, along with IHL Staff member Pearl Pennington.

Governor William Winter has devoted a lifetime of service to building bridges. As Governor of Mississippi from 1980-1984, he helped build bridges to a better life for generations of Mississippi children by leading the nationally-acclaimed effort that culminated in the passage of the Mississippi Education Reform Act of 1982. This groundbreaking legislation and nationally-acclaimed effort established Mississippi’s first public kindergarten for all children and increased teacher pay.

His work to build bridges between citizens of all backgrounds and ethnicities is widely recognized. He was instrumental in the founding of the William Winter Institute for Racial Reconciliation at the University of Mississippi and is also honored with the William F. Winter Professorship in the Department of History. He was awarded the Profile in Courage Award by the John R. Kennedy Library Foundation and is a recipient of the prestigious Martin Luther King Jr. Award from the National Education Association.

Prior to serving as Governor, Winter was elected to serve as a state representative, state tax collector, state treasurer and lieutenant governor. He currently practices law with the Jones Walker law firm in Jackson.

A native of Grenada, Governor Winter received his bachelor’s and LL.B. law degrees from the University of Mississippi. He has also received honorary degrees from Davidson College, Millsaps College, William Carey University and Troy State University.

His credentials within the academic community include Jamie Whitten Professor of Law and Government at the University of Mississippi School of Law; Eudora Welty Professor of Southern Studies at Millsaps College; Fellow, Institute of Politics, Harvard University; and President, Ole Miss Alumni Association. The William Winter Teacher Scholarship/Loan and the William Winter Alternative Route Teacher Scholarship/Loan Programs are named in his honor.

Governor Winter has served as chairman of the Southern Regional Education Board, the Appalachian Regional Commission, the Southern Growth Policies Board, the Commission on the Future of the South, the National Civic league, the Kettering Foundation, the Foundation for the Mid South and the Mississippi Department of Archives and History, whose building is named in his honor.

The 2013 Diversity Educator of the Year is Dr. Kathie Stromile Golden, who serves as Director of International Programs and Professor of Political Science at Mississippi Valley State University. With over a decade of experience in her current position, she is well-versed in research focused on international and global awareness. This is demonstrated through her efforts to internationalize the curriculum and enrich the campus environment by advancing diversity on campus and within the campus community.

Dr. Golden is a true advocate of community involvement and has served throughout the state and region as a scholar on international programs lecturing on the benefits of these programs and how they diversify and enrich the learning experience. She is president and founding member of Study Mississippi, which is devoted to promoting Mississippi as a leader in the field of international education a top study destination for international students.

In recommending her for the award, Dr. John D. Jones, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs for Mississippi Valley State University wrote, “Dr. Golden is a consummate professional and wonderful role model for our students. As a teacher, researcher, and citizen of the university, she has made positive contributions to the campus and state through her role as Director of International Programs. Her knowledge of world cultures, diversity education, and global awareness makes her an extremely valuable resource at Mississippi Valley State and an excellent choice for recognition as the 2013 Diversity Educator of the Year.”

Dr. Golden holds a doctorate in political science from the University of Kentucky. She also earned a master’s degree in social science and a bachelor’s degree in political science from Southern University, Baton Rouge, La.

The Board honored faculty from each of Mississippi’s public universities for advancing diversity at their institutions. These honorees include:

Dr. Derek Greenfield
Director of Educational Equity and Inclusion, Title IX Administrator and Assistant Professor of Sociology
Alcorn State University

Dr. Debarashmi Mitra
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Community Development
Delta State University

Dr. Marvel A. Turner, Sr., CPA
Assistant Professor, Department of Accounting, College of Business
Jackson State University

Ms. Ann Carr
Senior Associate Athletic Director, Student Athlete Services and Senior Woman Administrator
Mississippi State University

Dr. Frank Davis
Training Coordinator, Adjunct Professor Emeritus, Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Entomology and Plant Pathology
Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine

Ms. Mary Ann Slater
Captain, MUW Police Department
Mississippi University for Women

2013 Diversity Educator of the Year
Dr. Kathie Stromile Golden
Director of International Programs and Professor of Political Science
Mississippi Valley State University

Dr. Carol Minor Boyd
Chair and Professor of Social Work
The University of Mississippi

Dr. Katie S. McClendon
Clinical Assistant and Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice
The University of Mississippi Medical Center

Dr. Sherita Johnson
Interim Director of the Center for Black Studies and Associate Professor of English
The University of Southern Mississippi


Click here to view photos of honorees, with identification of individuals in photos.

Photos of honorees may be downloaded from the following links:

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive