About Contact Careers News
System Diversity

2/19/2009 - Jackson, Miss.

During its regular monthly meeting today, the Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) honored Black History Month by recognizing Mississippi Representative Charles Young as the Board's 2009 Black History Month community honoree. As the influential Chairman of the Universities and Colleges Committee, Chairman Young has played a major role in the development of the state's System of higher education, both on budget and policy matters. "Representative Young has been a steadfast champion of higher education," said Board President Amy Whitten. "We are grateful to him and his work to advance Mississippi's eight public universities."

Additionally, the Board honored Dr. Eddie A. Holloway, Dean of Students and Assistant Professor of Psychology from the University of Southern Mississippi, as the 2009 Black History Month university honoree. The Board also honored individuals from each of Mississippi's other public universities for advancing diversity at their institutions. Click here for the complete list of institutional honorees.

During his commissioner's report, Interim Commissioner Dr. Aubrey K. Lucas announced the 2008 institutional Best Practices. The Best Practices award program is designed to highlight efforts that create efficient and effective practices initiated at institutions in the following four categories: Academics; Finance, Business, and Administration; Student Services; and Technology. Institutional winners and information regarding the winning entries can be found here.

In other business, the Board approved the amendments and additions to Board Policy Section 600 with regard to student affairs and admissions. The Board also named Trustee Bettye Henderson Neely of Grenada, MS, to the post of Vice President of the Board, effective May 8, 2009 and ending May 7, 2010. Current Board Vice President Trustee Scott Ross of West Point will move into the Presidential post at that time.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive