Higher Education Appreciation Day

JACKSON, MISS. -- The 31st Annual Higher Education Appreciation Day-Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE) program is scheduled for Tuesday, February 20, 2018, at the Jackson Marriott Hotel. Each year, HEADWAE honors an outstanding faculty member and outstanding student from each participating member institution of the Mississippi Association of Colleges and Universities. The program will begin at the State Capitol with the awards luncheon to follow.

HEADWAE is supported by the Mississippi Legislature, sponsored by our corporate community, and is coordinated by the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning - Office of Academic and Student Affairs.

If your institution is participating in the 2017-18 HEADWAE program, please complete the online form. Also, please email a 2 ½ x 3 ½ photograph of the honorees (preferably black and white, 300dpi resolution) to HEADWAE@misissippi.edu. Please submit honoree forms and photos by November 30, 2017.

An invitation with details of the day's events will be mailed in January. If you have additional questions, please contact Gloria Miller, HEADWAE Coordinator, at 601-432-6422 or gmiller@mississippi.edu. Thank you for your participation.


The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.