JSU President Search About Contact Careers News

The Office of Finance acknowledges its responsibility for appropriate stewardship of financial resources from the State of Mississippi, students, and sources external to the institutions. Recognizing the value of each of our eight institutions being diverse entities, the institutions also function as part of a system of higher education. To that end, the Office of Finance is committed to leading the formation of a collaborative environment with the institutions in order to maximize financial resources and purchasing opportunities among the institutions, proactively address current issues that impact the business and finance arena; and increase efficiencies by streamlining the focus of the individual institutions' resources to deliver services and financial data.


As the chief administrative and financial officer at the Executive Office, the Associate Commissioner leads the development and management of the annual operating budget and multi-year projection models, including monitoring and reporting to the Board of Trustees and the Commissioner.


The responsibilities of the office include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Preparing and controlling the Executive Office Budget;
  • Establishing and operating an adequate system of accounting and financial reporting;
  • Procuring service, supplies, and equipment;
  • Controlling property inventories;
  • Managing the receipt, custody, and disbursement of funds;
  • Managing the auxiliary services;
  • Financial integrity of the system; and

Phil Cumberland
Procurement and Property Officer
Telephone: 601.432.6315

Cathy Huff
Director Support Operations
Telephone: 601.432.6316

Holly Johnson
Director of Accounting
Telephone: 601.432.6178

Shirley Kelly-McKay
Contracts and Grants Accountant
Telephone: 601.432.6521

John Pearce Jr.
Senior Associate Commissioner for Finance
Telephone: 601.432.6122

Christina Rushing
Administrative Assistant
Telephone: 601.432.6147

Ted Sledge
Senior Financial Analyst
Telephone: 601.432.6758

Sherry Smith
Accounts Payable Coordinator
Telephone: 601.432.6646

Betty Tinsley
Accounts Receivable Coordinator
Telephone: 601.432.6212

D'Anna White
Director of University Financial Analysis
Telephone: 601.432.6142