About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

8/18/2023 - Jackson, Miss.

The Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning announced the launch of an ADA/Accessibility Task Force at the Board of Trustees meeting held yesterday in Jackson.

IHL established the task force to ensure that individuals with disabilities have equal opportunities to thrive within the university system. Trustee Jeanne Carter Luckey played a pivotal role in the creation of this initiative.

"I am so pleased that IHL is undertaking this important effort to create inclusive and accessible learning environments for all students," said Trustee Luckey. "As the members share best practices and discuss challenges, solutions and advancements in ADA and accessibility services, their collective experiences will help advance accessibility services for current and future students with disabilities."

The task force, which includes members from all eight universities, the Mississippi Department of Finance and Administration and the IHL system office, will meet over the next 10 months to enhance support for students with disabilities across the public universities.

"It is vital that we do all we can to help students with disabilities to access, thrive and succeed in our public universities," said Trustee Dr. Alfred McNair, Jr., President of the Board of Trustees. "The Board is grateful to the members of this task force whose work will make our campuses more welcoming and accessible to all students."

The task force will work in subgroups to address issues in Academic Affairs, Events and Student Engagement, Housing and Facilities, Policies and Procedures and Surveys and Assessments. Key topics for discussion include current best practices and potential accessibility initiatives, universal design and accessibility standards across campuses, addressing shared barriers and challenges to access, collaborative solutions, assistive and adaptive technologies and access to resources.

The committee will begin its work with the formation of subgroups in September. The groups will meet monthly with a goal to make recommendations for enhancing accessibility services across the university system by June 2024.

The following will serve as members of the task force.


  • Marcus Thompson, Deputy Commissioner, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning
  • Alla Jeanae Frank, Assistant Commissioner of Operations


  • Dorothy Jackson Davis, Executive Director of Student Health & Well-Being, Alcorn State University
  • Lloyd Nesbitt, Assistant Vice President of Facilities Management, Alcorn State University
  • Lakita Dailey, Coordinator of Disability Services, Delta State University
  • Paula King, Assistant Director of Health & Counseling Services, Delta State University
  • Dr. Arron Richardson, Assistant Director of Disability Services, Jackson State University
  • Meagon P. Tolliver Dixon, Assistant Director of Business & Construction Management, Jackson State University
  • Brett Harvey, Director of Civil Rights Compliance & Chair of Access Committee, Mississippi State University
  • Chris Dallager, Director of Disability Resource Center & Access, Mississippi State University
  • Tequila McCoy, Student Support Specialist, Mississippi University for Women
  • Laura Quinn, Director of Human Resources, Mississippi University for Women
  • Kathy Brownlow, Academic Advisor/SVC Disability, Title III, Mississippi Valley State University
  • Dr. Lokesh Shivakumaraiah, Executive Director of International Relations and Assistant to the Provost, Mississippi Valley State University
  • Stacey Reycraft, Director of Student Disability Services, the University of Mississippi
  • Steven Holley, Vice Chancellor for Administration & Finance, the University of Mississippi
  • Dr. Sirena Cantrell, Assistant Vice President and Dean of Students, the University of Southern Mississippi
  • Charles Robbins, Director of Student Accessibility Services, the University of Southern Mississippi
  • Sara Austin Welch, Associated Student Body President, the University of Mississippi, and representative of the Student Body Presidents’ Council
  • Glenn Kornbreck, Deputy Director, Mississippi Department of Finance and Administration
  • Brad Rowland, Assistant Commissioner for Real Estate & Facilities, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Trustee Luckey was appointed to the Board of Trustees by Governor Phil Bryant in May 2018 to represent the Second (Southern) Supreme Court District for a term to expire May 7, 2027. She resides in Ocean Springs, where she is owner of JCL LLC, a real estate holding company and Magnolia State Development Group. She is a graduate of the University of Mississippi with a bachelor’s degree in Special Education and the University of Southern Mississippi with a master’s degree in Special Education.

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) became federal law in 1990. The ADA prohibits discrimination against individuals with disabilities in all areas of public life. The law requires public entities to make their programs and services accessible to individuals with disabilities and sets minimum standards for accessibility in renovation and new construction of commercial facilities.

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive