Live Webcast About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

3/15/2011 - Jackson, Miss.

WHO: Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCOR), which utilizes the science and technology resources at Jackson State University, Mississippi State University, the University of Mississippi and the University of Southern Mississippi to stimulate sustainable science and technology infrastructure improvements at these institutions to accelerate the ability of their researchers to compete for federal and private sector research and development funding.

WHAT: Display student research projects; meet with legislators, media representatives and other interested in EPSCOR

WHEN: Wednesday, March 16, 7:30 a.m. until 12:00 noon

WHERE: State Capitol Building, 400 High Street, Jackson


  • JSU: Student Gabrielle Cooper and biology department faculty mentor Raphael Isokpehi
  • MSU: Students Prashanti Manda and Erick Vasquez, along with faculty mentors Susan Bridges and Keisha Walters of, respectively, the departments of computer science and engineering and of chemical engineering
  • UM: Students Kari Copeland and Debra Scardino, along with faculty mentors Nathan Hammer and Greg Tschumper, both of the chemistry and biochemistry department
  • USM: Student Ying Li and faculty mentors Chaoyang “Joe” Zhang of the School of Computing

# # #

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive