About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

2/18/2011 - Jackson, Miss.

Sixty-eight outstanding students and faculty members from 34 Mississippi public and private universities and colleges recently received special recognition from the Mississippi Legislature during the 24th Annual Higher Education Appreciation Day—Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE) program.

HEADWAE was established in 1988 by legislative resolution to honor individual academic achievement and the overall contribution of the state’s public and private institutions of higher learning.

“The students being honored are working hard to achieve their goals and faculty members are recognized for working hard to help them achieve those dreams,” said Dr. Hank M. Bounds, Commissioner of Higher Education. “HEADWAE students and faculty are making a tremendous impact on their community colleges, private colleges and universities.”

The honorees began the day with a visit to the State Capitol where they were welcomed and recognized by the Senate and House of Representatives and given a tour of the Capitol. An awards luncheon at the Jackson Convention Complex in Jackson, with Lieutenant Governor Phil Bryant, chair of HEADWAE, as the keynote speaker, capped the celebration.

“It was an honor to address these future leaders of Mississippi at the annual HEADWAE luncheon,” said Lieutenant Governor Phil Bryant. “The academic excellence displayed by these students from our public-private universities and colleges demonstrate that Mississippi will remain competitive and innovative in our future economic development efforts.”

Dr. Eric Clark, Executive Director, State Board for Community and Junior Colleges, also congratulated the honorees.

“My message is two-fold,” said Dr. Clark. “First, I thank and congratulate the honorees. I also ask that you serve as ambassadors for higher education in our state.”

Corporate sponsors for the HEADWAE program include: Atmos Energy, Jackson; AT&T, Jackson; BancorpSouth, Tupelo; BankPlus, Jackson; Chevron, Pascagoula; Entergy, Jackson; Georgia-Pacific (KOCH Companies), Baton Rouge, LA: JBHM Education Group, Jackson; Mississippi Power Company, Gulfport; Mississippi National Guard, Jackson; Nissan-Canton; Northrop Grumman Ship Systems, Pascagoula; Sanderson Farms, Laurel; South Mississippi Electric, Hattiesburg; Trustmark Bank, Jackson; and Valley Services, Inc., Flowood.

“The honorees deserve a lot of recognition,” said Mayo Flynt, President, CEO, AT&T Mississippi. “They are committed to excellence and this will stand them in good stead in the future.”

Dr. Donna Oliver, President, Mississippi Valley State University, brought greetings on behalf of the Mississippi Association of Colleges and Universities, an organization for which she serves as president.

“You are building a foundation for life,” said Dr. Oliver. “Build it well and it will serve you well. Our state’s collective future is truly in good hands.”


Click here for a list of 2010-11 HEADWAE honorees.

Click on the following links for photos:

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive