About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

8/24/2010 - Jackson, Miss.

Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Hank M. Bounds announced today the Campus Search Advisory Committees to aid in the presidential searches for Alcorn State University and Jackson State University.

The members of the Alcorn State University Campus Search Advisory Committee include:

  • Alumni - James McDonald, Percy Norwood, Dr. Nate Hughes, Charles McClelland, Zelmarine Murphy
  • Faculty & Staff - Donna Green Hayden, Stephen McDaniel, Noland J. Boyd, Dr. Peter K. Malik, Dr. Ming Gao, Dr. Alpha Morris, Dr. Edward Vaughn, Kevin Appleton, Dr. Barry Bequette, Dr. Linda Godley, Dr. Wanda Arrington, Brenda Square, Dr. Wanda Newell
  • Students - Corey Cooper, Tasheena Galmore, Brandee Haney
  • Community Members - Mayor Paul Winfield, Robert Gage, Mayor Jake Middleton, Mayor Fred Reeves

The members of the Jackson State University Campus Search Advisory Committee include:

  • Alumni - Dr. Jasmine Chatman, Terry Woodard, Deshun Martin, Dr. John Peoples, Dr. Hilliard Lackey, Dr. Lelia Gaston Rhodes
  • Faculty & Staff - Alysia Lajune, Dr. Felix Okojie, Dr. Jean Claude Assad, Dr. Sophia Leggett, Dr. Patsy Daniels, Dr. Mark Hardy, Dr. Rosella Houston, Dr. Glenda Glover, Dr. Mahasin Owens-Sabir, Dr. Otha Burton
  • Students - Arianna S. Elliott, Andross K. Milteer
  • Community Members - Robert Cook, Bobby Sutton, Ben Allen, Meredith Creekmore, Leland Speed, Barbara Blackmon, Dr. Gwen Prater, W.C. Gorden, Dr. Curtina Moreland-Young

Members of the Campus Search Advisory Committees will participate in the campus listening sessions, which will include discussions on the qualities and qualifications stakeholders believe the next institutional executive officers should possess. 

The Campus Listening Sessions will be held on the Alcorn State University campus in Lorman on Tuesday, August 31, 2010, and on the Jackson State University campus in Jackson on Thursday, September 2, 2010. Videoconferencing will allow Alcorn State University’s Natchez Campus to participate. The sessions begin at 7:30 a.m. and conclude at 3:45 p.m. While all sessions are open to the public, each session focuses on the needs of a specific constituency group.

Tentative Schedule



7:30 a.m.

Community Leaders

9:15 a.m.

President’s Cabinet

10:00 a.m.

Deans and Senior Program Officers

10:45 a.m.

Division Chairs and Department Heads

11:30 a.m.

Student Representatives

12:30 p.m.

Faculty Representatives*

1:15 p.m.

Professional Support Representatives*

2:00 p.m.

National Alumni Association/Development Foundation President and Alumni Representatives*

2:45 p.m.

Open Meeting for Campus and Community*

3:45 p.m.

Campus Search Advisory Committee

*Webcast sessions

At Alcorn State University, all sessions will be held in the Clinton Bristow Jr. Dining Hall on the Lorman Campus. At Jackson State University, all sessions will be held in the JSU Student Center on the Jackson Campus.

Applicants for the presidencies of Alcorn and Jackson State may apply until September 15, 2010, for best consideration. For more information on the application process, visit the Ayers & Associates, Inc., Web site at ayersandassociatesinc.com.

Following the best consideration deadline, Campus Search Advisory Committees will submit no fewer than five candidates unranked to the Board Search Committee and select the Interview Search Advisory Committee. The Board will select the candidates to be interviewed.

The candidates for president of Alcorn State University and Jackson State University will be interviewed later this fall, with campus visits by the preferred candidates to follow.

For more information and to track progress on the presidential searches, visit the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning’s Web site at www.mississippi.edu/ieo


News Archive