JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

2/2/2010 - Jackson, Miss.

Seventy outstanding students and faculty members from 35 Mississippi public and private universities and colleges will receive special recognition from the Mississippi Legislature on February 24 during the 23rd annual Higher Education Appreciation Day — Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE) program.

HEADWAE was established in 1988 by legislative resolution to honor individual academic achievement and the overall contribution of the state's public and private institutions of higher learning.

The honorees will begin the day with a visit to the State Capitol where they will be welcomed and recognized by the Senate and House of Representatives and given a tour of the Capitol. The awards luncheon will begin at 11:45 a.m. at the Jackson Convention Complex in Jackson. Lieutenant Governor Phil Bryant, chair of HEADWAE, will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

"The Mississippi Legislature, the corporate community, and others involved in higher education are given the opportunity to recognize the academic and leadership achievements and celebrate individual students, faculty and staff who embody academic excellence and commitment to the goals and missions at our institutions of higher learning," Bryant said. "These honorees, through their personal and academic achievement, demonstrate that a quality education can be found right here in Mississippi's colleges and universities."

Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Hank Bounds will be the luncheon speaker.

Corporate sponsors for the HEADWAE program include: Atmos Energy, Jackson; AT&T, Jackson; BancorpSouth, Tupelo; BankPlus, Jackson; Chevron, Pascagoula; Entergy, Jackson; JBHM Education Group, Jackson; Mississippi Power Company, Gulfport; Mississippi National Guard, Jackson; Northrop Grumman Ship Systems, Pascagoula; Sanderson Farms, Laurel; South Mississippi Electric, Hattiesburg; Trustmark Bank, Jackson; and Valley Services, Inc., Flowood.

Click here for a list of 2009-10 HEADWAE honorees.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493