About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

5/7/2009 - Jackson, Miss.

The Search Advisory Committee for the next chancellor of the University of Mississippi (UM) met yesterday to review and discuss all candidate résumés for the position. As a result of the meeting, the Committee selected no fewer than five candidates to recommend to the UM Board Search Committee for possible interviews. The Search Advisory Committee also announced its representatives to join the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) throughout the entire candidate interview process. The representative subset of the Search Advisory Committee is referred to as the Interview Search Advisory Committee.

The members of the Search Advisory Committee selected to participate on the Interview Search Advisory Committee include: Dr. Alice Clark, Search Advisory Committee chair and UM vice chancellor for research and sponsored programs; Ms. Yogini Bhavsar, Graduate Student Council president; Dr. Don Cole, assistant provost, assistant to the chancellor for multicultural affairs, and associate professor of mathematics; Ms. Rose Jackson Flenorl, UM Alumni Association president; Ms. Shellie Harrison, Staff Council president; Dr. Tim Nordstrom, associate professor of political science; Mr. Graham Purcell, Associated Student Body president; and Dr. Helen Turner, University of Mississippi Medical Center associate vice chancellor for academic affairs and professor of medicine.

IHL's institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today's recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the University of Mississippi chancellor search process, including a timeline of events, click here.

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive