About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

5/7/2009 - Jackson, Miss.

The Search Advisory Committee for the next commissioner of higher education met yesterday to review and discuss all candidate résumés for the position. As a result of the meeting, the Committee selected no fewer than five candidates to recommend to the Commissioner Board Search Committee for possible interviews. The Search Advisory Committee also announced its representatives to join the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) throughout the entire candidate interview process. The representative subset of the Search Advisory Committee is referred to as the Interview Search Advisory Committee.

The members of the Search Advisory Committee selected to participate on the Interview Search Advisory Committee include: Dr. Robert Khayat, Search Advisory Committee chair and University of Mississippi chancellor; Dr. Lynn House, IHL assistant commissioner for academic and student affairs; Dr. Mark Keenum, Mississippi State University president; Dr. Claudia Limbert, Mississippi University for Women president; Dr. Linda McFall, IHL deputy commissioner for finance and administration; and Dr. George Ross, Alcorn State University president.

IHL's institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today's recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the commissioner of higher education search process, including a timeline of events, click here.

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive