Live Webcast About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

4/16/2009 - Jackson, Miss.

The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) held its regular monthly meeting on Thursday, April 16, 2009 at the Jackson Convention Complex.

The Board approved the universities' requests to award 9,330 degrees at the undergraduate and graduate levels in May 2009, provided each candidate has met all requirements for the degree.

Dr. Martha Catlette, director of nursing education in the IHL Office of Academic and Student Affairs delivered the 2008 Nursing Annual Report, detailing the status of Mississippi nursing degree programs, and the Board approved the continued accreditation of nursing degree programs for 2008 and 2009.

In other news, the Board received an update on the 2009 Legislative Session and the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 from Dr. Jim Borsig, IHL Assistant Commissioner for Governmental Relations. The Board also received the FY2008 IHL System Audit report, presented by Mr. Randy Eure of Carr, Riggs and Ingram, LLC CPA firm.

At the conclusion of the meeting, outgoing Board President Amy Whitten passed the presidential gavel to incoming Board President Scott Ross. Trustee Ross honored Trustee Whitten for her distinguished service to the Board during her year as president.

The next regular monthly meeting of the Board of Trustees will be held May 14, 2009, in the IHL Board Room, Universities Center, 3825 Ridgewood Road, Jackson, MS 39211.

The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive