About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

1/23/2009 - Jackson, Miss.

The Special Task Force for the Revitalization of the Delta Region, a group formed in 2006 House Bill 1034, continues its work through the launch of the second issue of Delta NEXT!, a magazine designed to encourage students in grades 6-9 to stay in school and graduate. The magazine is the first of its kind for a region in the State.

The mission of the 25-member Special Task Force, chaired by Former House Speaker Pro Tempore, Robert G. Clark, is to develop a "plan of action" to strategically revitalize the Delta Region and improve the quality of life for residents. The Special Task Force has determined that the number one long-term priority to revitalize the Delta is to increase the educational attainment and skills development levels of its citizens.

As part of the continued commitment to revitalize the Delta region, the Special Task Force developed Delta NEXT! magazine to help students answer the questions:

  • What are my next steps on this journey through school?
  • How do I stay on track ?
  • How do I make it into high school and what do I need to do to be successful once I get there?
  • How do I reach my ultimate goal of attending college?

The first issue of Delta NEXT! was published in October 2007 and distributed in the Delta Revitalization region—18 counties stretching from Tunica to Jefferson Counties.

The magazine reaches approximately 23,000 Delta students in 124 schools in 35 districts. Delta NEXT! features interviews from well-known Delta personalities and articles on a variety of topics to help students stay focused on a successful path toward graduation.

Pennington Junior High School counselor Sherby Hale, and students Perry Washington, Jr. and Nakeitha Hopkins, are featured on the cover of the 2008 issue of Delta NEXT! The magazine was distributed to Delta schools before the Christmas break.

The Task Force expects Delta NEXT! to continue to grow and be a positive influence on students, teachers, and parents.

For more information on the Special Task Force for the Revitalization of the Delta Region, please contact Debra Anderson at the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning Bureau for Long Range Planning at 601-432-6264.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive