About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

1/15/2009 - Jackson, Miss.

During its regular monthly meeting today, the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) announced that the Board Search Committee for the position of Chancellor at the University of Mississippi, a position that will become available following the retirement of University of Mississippi Chancellor Robert Khayat, which is effective June 30, 2009. Board President Amy Whitten announced that she will serve as Chair of the Board Search Committee, which will be comprised of Trustee Stacy Davidson of Cleveland; Trustee Bob Owens of Jackson; Trustee Aubrey Patterson of Tupelo; Trustee Alan Perry of Jackson; Trustee Christine Pickering of Biloxi; and Trustee Doug Rouse of Hattiesburg. The Board intends to have the new Chancellor named prior to June 30.

With regard to the Search for Commissioner of Higher Education, a position made available upon the October 2008 retirement of Dr. Thomas C. Meredith, Board President Amy Whitten identified Trustee Ed Blakeslee of Gulfport as Chair of the Board Search Committee, with the Board operating as a committee of the whole. Both searches will begin immediately.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive