ASU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

1/6/2009 - Jackson, Miss.

Following University of Mississippi Chancellor Robert C. Khayat’s announcement of retirement effective June 30, 2009, Ms. Amy Whitten, President of the Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL), said, "Dr. Khayat has served the University of Mississippi and the State of Mississippi with distinction. His accomplishments during his tenure have been exceptional, and he will be truly missed."

"Robert Khayat is one of the most effective university leaders I have ever known," said Interim Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Aubrey K. Lucas. "He has made a transforming difference at his alma mater. We wish him much happiness in his well deserved retirement."

The Board is expected to accept Dr. Khayat’s retirement request and to discuss the institutional transition during its upcoming Board meeting on Thursday, January 15, 2009. The University of Mississippi's press release on the announcement may be accessed by visiting

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

{ }