Live Webcast About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

8/29/2008 - Jackson, Miss.

The Search Advisory Committee for the next president of Mississippi State University (MSU) met yesterday to review and discuss all candidate resumes for the position. As a result of the meeting, the Committee forwarded its candidate selections, unranked, to the MSU Board Search Committee for possible interviews. The Search Advisory Committee also elected its representatives to join the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) throughout the entire candidate interview process. In addition to Dr. Bill Kibler, Vice President for Student Affairs and Chairman of the Search Advisory Committee, seven other members of the Search Advisory Committee have been selected, including: Dr. Susan Bridges, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering; Mr. Braxton Coombs, Student Body President; Dr. Linda Cornelious, Professor and Interim Head of Instructional Systems and Workforce Development; Mr. David Jones, Past President of the MSU Alumni Association; Dr. Melissa Moore, Associate Professor of Marketing; Ms. Joy Odom, MSU Staff Council President; and Dr. Lynne Richardson, Dean of the College of Business and Industry.

IHL's institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today's recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the Mississippi State University institutional executive officer search process, including a timeline of events, click here.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive