About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

4/11/2008 - Jackson, Miss.

The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) will hold its regular monthly meeting Wednesday, April 16, 2008, beginning at 8:30 a.m., in the IHL Board Room in the Universities Center, 3825 Ridgewood Road, Jackson, MS, 39211. The full Board will convene at 8:30 a.m. and will then conduct business as a committee of the whole. The Board meeting will be available for viewing via live webcast on the IHL website, www.mississippi.edu.

Various Board committees, including Educational Policies and Programs; Budget, Finance, and Audit; Real Estate and Facilities; Governance; Legal; and Gulf Coast, will meet as part of the Board meeting. An executive session may be held in accordance with the Open Meetings Act.

As part of the meeting, the Board will receive an update on the Mississippi EdNet Institute from Trustee Ed Blakeslee and an update regarding the 2008 legislative session by Dr. Jim Borsig, assistant commissioner of governmental relations. The Board will also commemorate the combined 38 years of service of the retiring members of the Board of Trustees, including Mr. Thomas Colbert, Mr. Roy Estess, Dr. D. E. Magee, Jr., and Ms. Virginia Shanteau Newton.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive