JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

9/14/2007 - Jackson, Miss.

The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) will hold its regular monthly meeting Wednesday, September 19, 2007, beginning at 1:30 p.m., and Thursday, September 20, 2007, beginning at 8:30 a.m., in the Ballroom of the Paul B. Johnson Commons Building on the University of Mississippi campus, Dormitory Row, University, MS, 38677. The full Board will convene at 1:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 19, 2007, and will then conduct business as a committee of the whole. The Board will then reconvene at 8:30 a.m. on Thursday, September 20, 2007, and will again conduct business as a committee of the whole. If time permits, some items placed on the agenda for consideration on Thursday, September 20, may be taken up by the Board on Wednesday, September 19.

Various Board committees, including Budget, Finance, and Audit; Educational Policies and Programs; Legal; Real Estate and Facilities; and Governance, will meet as part of the Board meeting. An executive session may be held in accordance with the Open Meetings Act.

During the meeting, the Board will hear the findings and recommendations of both the Tuition and Financial Aid Task Forces. Comprised of various university representatives System-wide, the Tuition Task Force was created in February 2007 by Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith. Chaired by Dr. Joseph Paul, vice president for student affairs at the University of Southern Mississippi, the Tuition Task Force was charged with thinking creatively about tuition and considering options for making a university education more affordable. Similarly, the Financial Aid Task Force, created in March 2007 by Commissioner Meredith and comprised of various university representatives, was chaired by Dr. Bucky Wesley, vice president for student services at Mississippi University for Women, and was charged with considering how to make financial aid easier to understand and more accessible to college students and their families.

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the eight public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493