JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

4/3/2007 - Jackson, Miss.

In a unanimous decision, the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) announced in a press conference today that Dr. George E. Ross, vice president for finance and administrative services at Central Michigan University (CMU), will serve as the 17th president of Alcorn State University. The announcement was made following day-long interviews with various campus and community constituency groups at the University’s Lorman campus, during which those participants had the opportunity to evaluate Dr. Ross.

“Dr. Ross’ proven record of leadership and experience makes him the right choice to lead Alcorn State University,” said Board President Dr. D.E. Magee, Jr., chair of the Alcorn State Board Search Committee. “I am confident he will guide the university to the next level of excellence.”

As CMU’s chief financial officer, Dr. Ross is responsible for the day-to-day management of the University’s fiscal and physical resources. He also oversees financial services and reporting, budget and planning, human resources, facilities management, residences and auxiliary services, campus police, the general counsel’s office, health services, and university recreation. Dr. Ross has more than 30 years of finance and management experience in the corporate and non-profit sectors, as well as in higher education. His higher education experience includes positions at Clark Atlanta University in Atlanta, Georgia; the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga; and Tuskegee University in Tuskegee, Alabama. A certified public accountant, Dr. Ross earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in business administration at Michigan State University and a Ph.D. in higher education from the University of Alabama. He completed post doctoral studies at Harvard University. A full biography and high-resolution photo of Dr. Ross are available on the IHL website, www.mississippi.edu/george_ross.html.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493