JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

3/30/2007 - Jackson, Miss.

Dr. Martha Dunagin Saunders, the Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning’s (IHL) preferred candidate for the next president of the University of Southern Mississippi, will be on Southern Miss’ Hattiesburg Campus Thursday, April 5, 2007, to participate in open interviews with various campus constituency groups. Participants will have an opportunity to provide written feedback to the Board. At the end of the day, as noted on the schedule below, the Board will meet to determine if Dr. Saunders is the next president of the University of Southern Mississippi, or if the search will continue.


All of the day’s events on Thursday, April 5, 2007, will be held in the Thad Cochran Center, 121 West Memorial Drive, Hattiesburg, MS, 39406, and are open to the media. The schedule is as follows:


7:30-8:30 a.m.: Interview and Breakfast with Vice Presidents; Presidential Suite


8:30-9:15 a.m.: Interview with Deans; Room 218


9:15-10:00 a.m.: Interview with Athletics; Room 218


10:00-10:40 a.m.: Interview with Undergraduate and Graduate Student Leaders; Room 218


10:40-11:30 a.m.: Interview with Foundation Leadership; Room 218


11:30-12:45 p.m.: Interview and Lunch with Community Leaders; Room 210


12:45-1:45 p.m.: Interview with Faculty and Staff; Room 218


1:45-2:45 p.m.: Interview with Faculty Senate, Gulf Coast Faculty Council, Staff Council, and American Association of

University Professors; Room 218


2:45-3:40 p.m.: Interview with Academic Council, Graduate Council, Council of Chairs, University Libraries,

and Gulf Coast Research Lab; Room 218


3:40-4:40 p.m.: Interview with Alumni Association; Room 218


4:45-5:30 p.m.: Interview and Reception for Campus and Community; Room 210 & 2nd Floor Conference Center Area


5:30 p.m.: Board of Trustees Meeting; Presidential Suite. An executive session may be held in accordance with the Open Meetings Act. A press conference will be held immediately following the Board Meeting in Room 218.


For more information on the presidential search process, including a timeline of events, visit http://www.ihl.state.ms.us/ieo_search.html.


Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493