Live Webcast About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

2/12/2007 - Jackson, Miss.

Seventy-two outstanding students and faculty members from 36 Mississippi public and private universities and colleges, whose names are listed below, will receive special recognition from the Mississippi Legislature on Tuesday, February 20, during the 20th Annual Higher Education Appreciation Day/Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE) awards luncheon, which will begin at 11:45 a.m. at the Jackson Marriott Downtown, 200 Amite Street, Jackson, MS, 29201.

HEADWAE was established in 1988 by the Legislature to honor the academic achievement of individuals and the overall contribution of the state’s public and private institutions of higher learning. This year’s honorees will begin the appreciation day with a visit to the State Capitol where they will be welcomed and recognized by the Senate and House of Representatives before participating in a tour of the Capitol. An awards luncheon will follow at 11:45 a.m. at the Jackson Marriott Downtown. Lieutenant Governor Amy Tuck, who actively serves as chairman of the HEADWAE committee, will preside as mistress of ceremonies. Kathleen Koch, a CNN general assignment correspondent based in Washington, D.C., and native of Bay Saint Louis, will deliver the keynote address.

“The Mississippi Legislature, the corporate community, and others involved in higher education are given the opportunity to recognize the academic achievements of outstanding students and faculty at our institutions of higher learning,” said Lieutenant Governor Tuck. “These honorees, through their personal and academic achievement, demonstrate that a quality education can be found right here in Mississippi’s colleges and universities.”

Also participating in the luncheon program are Speaker of the House, Billy McCoy; President Pro-Tempore of the Senate, Travis Little; Speaker Pro-Tempore of the House, J.P. Compretta; Representative Charles Young; President of Jackson State University and of the Mississippi Association of Colleges, Dr. Ronald Mason, Jr.; and Commissioner of Higher Education, Dr. Thomas C. Meredith.

Corporate sponsors for the HEADWAE program include AT&T, Jackson; BancorpSouth, Tupelo; Cadence Bank, Starkville; Chevron Corporation, Pascagoula; The Cirlot Agency, Jackson; Dean and Dean Architects, Jackson; Entergy, Jackson; Ergon, Jackson; Georgia-Pacific Corporation, Baton Rouge, Louisiana; Hill Brothers Leasing Company, Faulkner; Howard Industries, Laurel; Mississippi Power Company, Gulfport; Mississippi National Guard, Jackson; Nissan, Canton; Northrop Grumman Ship Systems, Pascagoula; Puckett Machinery, Jackson; Roy Anderson Corp, Gulfport; Sanderson Farms, Laurel; South Mississippi Electric Association, Hattiesburg; T.L. Wallace Construction, Columbia; Weyerhaeuser Company Foundation, Tacoma, Washington.



Alcorn State University

Archie Taylor-Price

Larry Konecky

Belhaven College

Michael Brice Phillips

Sara Beth Kimmel

Blue Mountain College

Lydia B. Turner

Janice I. Nicholson

Coahoma Community College

Albert Bush

Robert L. Rockett

Copiah-Lincoln Community College

Tammy Shields

Jan Hammack Pickle

Delta State University

Emily Anne Jennings

Rick Torgerson

East Central Community College

Colby Wayne Amis

H. Kevin Ryals

East Mississippi Community College

Anna Olivia Reed

Robin Moody Fulton

Hinds Community College

Taylor Russell George

Martha G. Hill

Holmes Community College

Sara Elizabeth Balch

John P. Switzer

Itawamba Community College

Edward Wunder

Kenneth Nowicki

Jackson State University

Delisa Renae Hamilton

Mary M. White

Jones County Junior College

Natalie Shows

Sandra Shows

Magnolia Bible College

Rodney G. Livingston

Suzanne Shute O’Brien

Meridian Community College

Christopher Hemphill

Michael H. Thompson

Millsaps College

Aprile Claire Gilmore

James B. Harris

Mississippi College

Michael Ward

Harold William Wheeler, Jr.

Mississippi Delta Community College

Anna Catherine Hays

Wallace Mallette

Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Perry Dewayne Holden

Buck T. Foster

Mississippi State University

J. R. Love, II

Robert E. Wolverton, Sr.

Mississippi University for Women

Amarachukwu C. Imediegwu

Jane Hurley Wenstrom

Mississippi Valley State University

Rikeshia Davidson

Raymond Williams

Northeast Mississippi Community College

Whitney Yarber

Collin Billingsley

Northwest Mississippi Community College

Jessica Ashton Motes

L. Wayne Ferguson

Pearl River Community College

Brock Baxter White

Judy Clark Roane

Reformed Theological Seminary

Jamie Jimenez

Samuel Harry Larsen

Rust College

Alicia L. Daniels

Leon Howard

Southeastern Baptist College

Coy Rice

Linda I. Windham

Southwest Mississippi Community College

Kimberly Hope Cutrer

Brenda Burch

Tougaloo College

James D’Ante Johnson

Jacqueline F. Wheelock

The University of Mississippi

Rounsaville S. McNeal

Laurdella Foulkes-Levy

The University of Mississippi Medical Center

Graham Carr Calvert

Jimmy L. Stewart, Jr.

The University of Southern Mississippi

Jordan Hailey

Margot Hall

Wesley Biblical Seminary

Hannah Gormong Engebretson

M. William “Bill” Ury

Wesley College

Christina Blair Chandler

Keith Megehee

William Carey University

Amanda Jean Lawler

Mary Westfaul Stewart


News Archive