JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

2/9/2007 - Jackson, Miss.

Dr. D.E. Magee, Jr., chair of the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning’s (IHL) Search Committee for the next President of Alcorn State University, today announced the members of the Alcorn State University Search Advisory Committee who will join the Board and Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith throughout the entire interview process. The individuals invited to join the Board were selected by the Search Advisory Committee members. In addition to Dr. Alpha Morris, professor and chair of the Department of Social Sciences, who will serve by virtue of her role as chair of the Search Advisory Committee, six other members of the Search Advisory Committee have been selected, including: Dr. Doris McGowan, chair of the Department of Education and Philosophy, representing the University’s administrators; Dr. Alton Johnson, assistant professor of agriculture and Faculty Assembly president, representing the University faculty; Ms. Donna Hayden, Banner coordinator and president of the Staff Senate, representing the University staff; Mr. Larry Edward Duncan, president of the Student Government Association, representing the University’s student body; Mr. Freddie Owens, alumnus and president of the National Alumni Association, representing the University’s external constituencies; and Mr. Robert Gage, chairman of the Alcorn State University Foundation, representing the community.

IHL's institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today's recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the Alcorn State University institutional executive officer search process, including a timeline of events, click here.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493