JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

11/13/2006 - Jackson, Miss.

Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith has announced the members of The University of Southern Mississippi Search Advisory Committee. The Search Advisory Committee members will assist the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) with its search for the next president of Southern Miss. Search Advisory Committee members were chosen based on recommendations by university and community constituencies and reflect key members of the university community as well as the public and private sectors. The Southern Miss Search Advisory Committee is charged with identifying the most capable and qualified applicants and nominees to be presented to the Board Search Committee for review. Some Search Advisory Committee members will also participate in the final interview process with the Board of Trustees.

“The Southern Miss Search Advisory Committee has the tremendous responsibility of assisting the Board of Trustees with their choice of the next president of The University of Southern Mississippi,” said Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith. “I am confident this group of individuals is committed to this very important task.”

The University of Southern Mississippi Search Advisory Committee members include:

Dr. Peter J. Fos, who will also serve as Committee Chair
Dean and Professor, College of Health

Dr. Patsy L. Anderson
Associate Professor, Gulf Coast Division of Health

Mr. Randy Buchanan
Associate Professor and Assistant Director, School of Computing

Dr. Donna Davis
Chair, Academic Council; Professor of Accountancy and Information Systems

Dr. Johnny DuPree
Mayor of the City of Hattiesburg

Ms. Wynde J. Fitts
Chair, Staff Council; Director of Freshman Year Experience

Mr. Gene Gouaux
President of the Southern Miss Student Government Association; Undergraduate Student

Dr. Taralynn S. Hartsell
Assistant Professor of Technology Education

Dr. William E. Hawkins
Executive Director and Professor, Department of Coastal Sciences

Dr. Myron S. Henry
Chair, Faculty Senate; Professor of Mathematics

Mr. Rickey Jones
Lenders Choice, Inc.

Ms. Erica Lewis
Graduate Student

Dr. Mary F. Lux
Professor and Associate Chair of Medical Technology

Mr. Ed McCormack
Interim University Librarian

Dr. Bobby Lynn Middlebrooks
Chair, Graduate Council; Professor of Biological Science

Mr. Bob Mixon
Courtesy Ford

Dr. Kristi Lynn Motter
Associate Vice President for Enrollment Services; Director of Financial Aid

Dr. D. Joe Olmi
Chair, American Association of University Professors; Associate Professor of Psychology

Mr. Ed Pittman
Chief Justice (retired); Attorney

Dr. Elliott A. Pood
Dean and Professor of Speech and Mass Communication, Dean’s Office, Arts and Letters

Ms. Lou Ann Poynter
President elect, The University of Southern Mississippi Alumni Association

Dr. Ronald Anthony Styron
Chair and Associate Professor, Education Leadership and Research

Ms. Karolyn S. Thompson
Professor and Document Delivery Coordinator, University Libraries

Dr. Alvin Jerome Williams
Professor of Management and Marketing

Dr. James H. Wolfe
Professor of Political Science, International Development and International Affairs

IHL’s institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today’s recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the Southern Miss institutional executive officer search process, including a timeline of events, visit http://www.ihl.state.ms.us/ieo_search.html.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493