JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

10/23/2006 - Jackson, Miss.

Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith has announced the members of the Alcorn State University Search Advisory Committee. The Search Advisory Committee members will assist the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) with its search for the next president of Alcorn State University. Search Advisory Committee members were chosen based on recommendations by university constituencies and reflect key members of the university community as well as the public and private sectors. The Alcorn State University Search Advisory Committee is charged with identifying the most capable and qualified applicants and nominees to be presented to the Board Search Committee for review. Some Search Advisory Committee members will also participate in the final interview process with the Board of Trustees.

"Alcorn State's Search Advisory Committee represents a comprehensive group of university stakeholders," said Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith. "I am confident their recommendations to the Board will ensure the best possible person is hired as the next president of Alcorn State University."

Alcorn State University Search Advisory Committee members include:

Dr. Alpha Morris, who will serve as Search Advisory Committee Chair
Department Chair and Professor-Social Sciences

Dr. David Addae
Professor of Advanced Technologies and Faculty Senate President

Dr. Vivek Bhargava
Associate Professor of MBA Program

Ms. Trena Boyd
Undergraduate Student and Miss Alcorn

Dr. Paul Broome
Department Chair-English and Foreign Languages

Mr. Ramel Cotton
Alcorn State Alumnus

Mr. Larry Edward Duncan
Undergraduate Student and Student Government Association President

Mr. Robert Gage
Alcorn State University Foundation Chair

Ms. Donna Hayden
Banner Coordinator and President of Staff Senate

Ms. Karen Hollowell
Graduate Student

Mr. Laplose Jackson
Vice President for Student Affairs

Dr. Alton B. Johnson
Assistant Professor of Agriculture and Faculty Assembly President

Mr. Wiley Jones
Interim Athletic Director and Special Projects Director

Mr. Jewel Lockhart
Alcorn State Alumnus

Mrs. Debra McDonough
Assistant Professor of Nursing

Dr. Doris McGowan
Department Chair-Education and Psychology

Mr. Freddie Owens
Alcorn State Alumnus and National Alumni Association President

Dr. Gerald Ritter
Professor of Education and Psychology

Ms. Karen Shedrick
Executive Secretary and Administrative Assistant to the President

Dr. Edward Vaughn
Dean, General College for Excellence

Dr. Steve Wells
Dean, College of Business

Mr. Phillip West
Alcorn State Alumnus and Mayor of Natchez

IHL's institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today's recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the Alcorn State University institutional executive officer search process, including a timeline of events, visit the website.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493