JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

9/29/2006 - Jackson, Miss.

Dr. D.E. Magee, Jr., President of the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning, today announced the members of the Board Search Committee for the institutional executive officer (IEO) search at the University of Southern Mississippi. Current Southern Miss President Dr. Shelby Thames will step down in May, 2007. Members of the Southern Miss Board Search Committee are:

  • Trustee Robin Robinson of Laurel, MS, who will also serve as Committee Chair;
  • Trustee Ed Blakeslee of Gulfport, MS;
  • Trustee Virginia Shanteau Newton of Gulfport, MS;
  • Trustee Bob Owens of Jackson, MS; and
  • Trustee Scott Ross of West Point, MS.

"The Board Search Committee for the University of Southern Mississippi is committed to hiring the best possible individual for the position of President at Southern Miss," said President Magee.

Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith also announced that executive search firm Greenwood & Associates, Inc. will be used to assist the Board during the search process.

The Board Search Committee, Commissioner and an associate from Greenwood & Associates, Inc., are tentatively scheduled to meet with various University of Southern Mississippi constituency groups during open meetings on Thursday, November 9, on the Southern Miss campus, to find out what traits the university community wants in their next president. Greenwood & Associates, Inc. will use these traits to draft the job description. Details will be announced as they are finalized.

IHL's institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today's recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the University of Southern Mississippi IEO search process, including a timeline of events, , including a timeline of events, visit the Institutional Executive Officer Search Process link.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493