About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

9/25/2006 - Jackson, Miss.

Dr. D.E. Magee, Jr., President of the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning, today announced the members of the Board Search Committee for the institutional executive officer (IEO) search at Alcorn State University, following the sudden death of President Clinton Bristow, Jr., in August. Board Search Committee members include:

  • Dr. D.E. Magee, Jr., of Jackson, MS, who will also serve as Committee Chair;
  • Mr. Roy Estess of Carriere, MS;
  • Dr. Bettye Henderson Neely, of Grenada, MS;
  • Mr. Aubrey Patterson of Tupelo, MS; and
  • Ms. Amy Whitten of Oxford, MS.

"The Board has a constitutional duty and obligation to select the next president at Alcorn State University. I am confident the members of the Board Search Committee will successfully fulfill that obligation," said President Magee.

Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith also announced that executive search firm Greenwood & Associates, Inc. will be used to assist the Board during the search process.

The Board Search Committee, Commissioner and an associate from Greenwood & Associates, Inc., will meet with various Alcorn State constituency groups on Monday, October 2, on the Alcorn campus, to find out what traits the university community wants in their next president. Greenwood & Associates, Inc. will use those traits to draft the job description. Details will be announced as they are finalized.

IHL's institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today's recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the Alcorn State University IEO search process, including a timeline of events, visit the Institutional Executive Officer Search Process link.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive