Live Webcast About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

1/19/2006 - Jackson, Miss.

In its regular monthly meeting, the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) approved and welcomed Mr. Roy Estess as Governor Barbour’s new Board appointee. Trustee Estess will replace Mr. Roy Klumb, who resigned in December, 2005, due to personal reasons. Trustee Estess will serve on the Board until his formal Senate confirmation.

A native of Carriere, Mississippi, Trustee Estess retired as director of NASA’s John C. Stennis Space Center in 2002, a position he held for 13 years. In total, he has worked in various engineering and management capacities for 42 years with the U.S. government. He is a graduate of Mississippi State University with a degree in aerospace engineering and completed the advanced management program at Harvard Graduate Business School. Trustee Estess and his wife, Zann, have two children and two grandchildren.

"I am pleased to welcome our new Board member," said Board President Virginia Shanteau Newton. "He comes to us with a wealth of professional experience in a large, complex organization, much like our institutions. We look forward to Mr. Estess’ public service on the Board."

The Board of Trustees also welcomed other honored guests, including Ms. Ann Copland, Senior Executive and Legislative Assistant to Senator Thad Cochran. Ms. Copland was instrumental in assisting Mississippi’s receipt of the $95 million in federal relief dollars designated for student financial aid assistance. The Board also recognized corporate sponsors AmSouth Bank and BellSouth for their financial contributions to the IHL Board Room. AmSouth Bank donated $10,000 as the Public Policy Champion, and BellSouth contributed $25,000 as the Official Sponsor of the IHL Board Room. "Both AmSouth Bank and BellSouth are long-time champions of higher education, and we thank you for your support," said Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith.

In other news, the Board approved the establishment of a Bachelor of Science in Computer Networking and Information Technology at Alcorn State University and heard the annual performance report of the Mississippi Teacher Preparation Programs. The Board also approved the allocations of federal relief dollars designated for student financial aid assistance.

The next regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning is set for Wednesday, February 15, beginning at 8:30 a.m.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive