JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

3/14/2023 - Jackson, Miss.

Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Alfred Rankins Jr. has accepted the resignation of Thomas Hudson as President of Jackson State University, effective March 31, 2023. Hudson will remain on administrative leave, with pay, through the end of the month.

Dr. Elayne Hayes-Anthony will continue serving as temporary acting president. The Board of Trustees will discuss the future leadership of Jackson State at its regular Board meeting later this month.

# # #

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493