About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

10/2/2018 - Jackson, Miss.

The Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning voted to launch the search for the next President of Alcorn State University at its meeting held today on Alcorn campus in Lorman. Board President Shane Hooper will serve as Chair of the Board Search Committee. Other members of the Board Search Committee include Trustee Ann H. Lamar, Trustee Jeanne Carter Luckey, Trustee Chip Morgan, and Trustee Hal Parker.

"Based on the feedback we received today from the campus community, the Board has decided to launch a national search for the next president of Alcorn State University," said Trustee Shane Hooper, President of the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning.

The next steps include engaging a search firm through a request for proposals process and calling for nominations for individuals to serve on the Campus Search Advisory Committee. Representatives from all stakeholder groups, including students, alumni, faculty, staff and the community are needed on the committee. Members of the Campus Search Advisory Committee will be asked to attend in-person meetings, participate in conference calls, and review materials through a secure website.

For updates and additional information, the ASU search can be followed on Twitter @ASU_Search and @MSPublicUniv.

# # #

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive