Live Webcast About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

2/23/2018 - Jackson, Miss.

Governor Phil Bryant delivered keynote address
Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann greeted honorees at the State Capitol

Outstanding students and faculty members from 34 Mississippi public and private universities and colleges were honored at the annual HEADWAE program, held recently in Jackson. Higher Education Appreciation Day-Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE) was established by legislative resolution to honor individual academic achievement and the overall contribution of the state's public and private institutions of higher learning.

The honorees began the day with a visit to the State Capitol where they were greeted by Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann and given a tour of the Capitol. An awards luncheon at the Marriott Hotel in Jackson, with Governor Phil Bryant as the keynote speaker, capped the celebration.

Corporate sponsors for the HEADWAE program include: Atmos Energy; AT&T Mississippi; BancorpSouth; Chevron Products Company; ERGON; Georgia Pacific (KOCH); Huntington-Ingalls Shipbuilding; Mississippi National Guard; Mississippi Power Company; Sanderson Farms; Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Mississippi, Inc.; Trustmark National Bank; and Valley Services, Inc.

Governor Phil Bryant delivers the keynote address at the HEADWAE Luncheon held recently in Jackson. (Photo Credit: Tammi Bowles, Hinds Community College)

Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann greets honorees and guests at the State Capitol. (Photo Credit: Leah Rupp Smith, Secretary of State's Office)

Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann (center) greets HEADWAE volunteers from the Institutions of Higher Learning and the Mississippi Community College Board, (l-r) Eric Atchison, IHL; Cathy Huff, IHL: Dr. Casey Turnage, IHL; Audra Kimble, MCCB; Gloria Miller, IHL, HEADWAE Coordinator; Alushus Cooper, IHL; and Shirley Kelly, IHL; at the State Capitol as the HEADWAE honorees begin their tour. (Photo Credit: Leah Rupp Smith, Secretary of State's Office)

Institution Student Honoree Faculty Honoree
Alcorn State University Kevin Westley Washington Benedict Udemgba
Belhaven University Tyler James Wolfe Gary Reid Bishop
Blue Mountain College Catherine Juliann Snyder Jerri Lamar Bradley Kantack
Coahoma Community College Miracle L. Hunter Deborah Denise
Copiah-Lincoln Community College Robert Tayler Case Mandy Hart Case
Delta State University Ashley Dominique Griffin Emily Annette Newman
East Central Community College Reagan Danielle Gorgas Michelle Li Lee
East Mississippi Community College William Caleb Younger Tara Dawkins Hurt
Hinds Community College Anna Kaylen Hite Joy Heard Rhoads
Holmes Community College Buck Slade Allgood Xiaoying Wang
Itawamba Community College Hunter Garrett  Holley Morgan Spencer Cutturini
Jackson State University Harrison Rhodes Watson Lin Li
Jones County Junior College Katelynn McGowen Jessica Bunch
Meridian Community College Katherine Anna Loper Holly Ann Hodges Crane
Millsaps College Sarah Ruth Altman Eric John Griffin
Mississippi College Annsley Claire McRae Cindy Magee Melton
Mississippi Delta Community College Heather Louise Lee Philip Lawes
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Nolan Phillip Stringfellow Patricia Scott West
Mississippi State University Tyler McMurray Brent Jonathan Fountain
Mississippi University for Women Lisa Shrestha Erin M. Kempker
Mississippi Valley State University Henry Tobechukwu Akaeze Candace Carter Stevens
Northeast Mississippi Community College Mallorie Rachael Waldon Jeffrey Glen Melson
Northwest Mississippi Community College Gavin Blaine Brown Sarah Mattox Holt
Pearl River Community College Jill Kennedy Martin Lonnie Charles Burchell
Reformed Theological Seminary Peyton Elizabeth Swanson William J. Richardson
Rust College William Deshun Robinson Sharron Ruth Goodman-Hill
Southeastern Baptist College James Edward McGhee, Jr. Robert Dale Burch
Southwest Mississippi Community College Trulee Magee Torres Walter  Michael Flowers
Tougaloo College Danielle Maurie Irma Magee Bidisha Sengupta
University of Mississippi Dion Armstrong Kevin III John M. Rimoldi
University of Mississippi Medical Center James Robert Ware II Mary McCaffery Moore
University of Southern Mississippi Caroline Bradley Kelly Ferris Lester
Wesley Biblical Seminary Daniel Eugene Jackson Matt T. Friedeman
William Carey University Hannah Michelle Moak Phyllis Howell Armstrong
Click here for a list of 2017-18 HEADWAE honorees.

See links below for photos of the honorees, the events at the State Capitol and the luncheon.


The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive