About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

2/6/2018 - Jackson, Miss.

Governor Phil Bryant will deliver the keynote address at the luncheon.

Higher Education Appreciation Day-Working for Academic Excellence (HEADWAE) was established by legislative resolution to honor individual academic achievement and the overall contribution of the state's public and private institutions of higher learning.

"We are so pleased that Governor Bryant will deliver the keynote address for the HEADWAE Luncheon this year," said Dr. Glenn Boyce, Commissioner of Higher Education. "He has been a stalwart supporter of this program for many years and his presence will mean a great deal to the student and faculty honorees."

The honorees will begin the day with a visit to the State Capitol where they will be recognized by the Senate and House of Representatives and given a tour of the Capitol. The awards luncheon will begin at 11:45 a.m. at the Marriott Hotel, 200 East Amite Street in Jackson.

Governor Bryant has led Mississippi in implementing transformational public education reforms, promoting economic development and building a competitive business climate that attracts major employers like Yokohama Tire Corporation and Continental Tire. Under Governor Bryant's administration, more than 60,000 jobs have been announced, and unemployment has reached record lows.

Corporate sponsors for the HEADWAE program include: Atmos Energy; AT&T Mississippi; BancorpSouth; Chevron Products Company; ERGON; Georgia Pacific (KOCH); Huntington-Ingalls Shipbuilding; Mississippi National Guard; Mississippi Power Company; Sanderson Farms; Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Mississippi, Inc.; Trustmark National Bank; and Valley Services, Inc.

Institution Student Honoree Faculty Honoree
Alcorn State University Kevin Westley Washington Benedict Udemgba
Belhaven University Tyler James Wolfe Gary Reid Bishop
Blue Mountain College Catherine Juliann Snyder Jerri Lamar Bradley Kantack
Coahoma Community College Miracle L. Hunter Deborah Denise
Copiah-Lincoln Community College Robert Tayler Case Mandy Hart Case
Delta State University Ashley Dominique Griffin Emily Annette Newman
East Central Community College Reagan Danielle Gorgas Michelle Li Lee
East Mississippi Community College William Caleb Younger Tara Dawkins Hurt
Hinds Community College Anna Kaylen Hite Joy Heard Rhoads
Holmes Community College Buck Slade Allgood Xiaoying Wang
Itawamba Community College Hunter Garrett  Holley Morgan Spencer Cutturini
Jackson State University Harrison Rhodes Watson Lin Li
Jones County Junior College Katelynn McGowen Jessica Bunch
Meridian Community College Katherine Anna Loper Holly Ann Hodges Crane
Millsaps College Sarah Ruth Altman Eric John Griffin
Mississippi College Annsley Claire McRae Cindy Magee Melton
Mississippi Delta Community College Heather Louise Lee Philip Lawes
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College Nolan Phillip Stringfellow Patricia Scott West
Mississippi State University Tyler McMurray Brent Jonathan Fountain
Mississippi University for Women Lisa Shrestha Erin M. Kempker
Mississippi Valley State University Henry Tobechukwu Akaeze Candace Carter Stevens
Northeast Mississippi Community College Mallorie Rachael Waldon Jeffrey Glen Melson
Northwest Mississippi Community College Gavin Blaine Brown Sarah Mattox Holt
Pearl River Community College Jill Kennedy Martin Lonnie Charles Burchell
Reformed Theological Seminary Peyton Elizabeth Swanson William J. Richardson
Rust College William Deshun Robinson Sharron Ruth Goodman-Hill
Southeastern Baptist College James Edward McGhee, Jr. Robert Dale Burch
Southwest Mississippi Community College Trulee Magee Torres Walter  Michael Flowers
Tougaloo College Danielle Maurie Irma Magee Bidisha Sengupta
University of Mississippi Dion Armstrong Kevin III John M. Rimoldi
University of Mississippi Medical Center James Robert Ware II Mary McCaffery Moore
University of Southern Mississippi Caroline Bradley Kelly Ferris Lester
Wesley Biblical Seminary Daniel Eugene Jackson Matt T. Friedeman
William Carey University Hannah Michelle Moak Phyllis Howell Armstrong

Click here for a list of 2017-18 HEADWAE honorees.


The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

News Archive