JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

2/1/2016 - Jackson, Miss.

MEC President & CEO Blake Wilson to chair event

Toyota Motor Manufacturing Mississippi, Inc. Vice President of Manufacturing Sean Suggs to deliver keynote address

WHO:Outstanding students and faculty members from 34 Mississippi public and private universities and colleges
WHAT:Receive special recognition from the Mississippi Legislature

February 2, 2016

  • 10:00 a.m.: Governor Phil Bryant to welcome honorees and guests, Room 216, State Capitol
  • 11:45 a.m.: Awards Luncheon, Windsor Ballrooms I, II, & III, Marriott Hotel, 200 East Amite Street, Jackson
  • Sean Suggs, Vice President of Manufacturing, Toyota Motor Manufacturing Mississippi, Inc., Keynote Speaker
  • Blake Wilson, President & CEO, Mississippi Economic Council, HEADWAE Chair
  • Dr. Glenn Boyce, Commissioner of Higher Education
  • Dr. Andrea Mayfield, Executive Director, Mississippi Community College Board
  • Dr. E. Harold Fisher, Chair, Mississippi Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
  • Senator Terry C. Burton, Senate President Pro Tempore
  • Senator Josh Harkins, Chair, Senate Universities and Colleges Committee
  • Senator Hillman T. Frazier, Vice Chair, Senate Universities and Colleges Committee
  • Representative Greg Holloway, Vice Chair, House Universities and Colleges Committee
  • Representative Sonya Willaims-Barnes, Member, House Education Committee
  • Dr. Susan P. Lee, Interim Associate Commissioner of Academic and Student Affairs, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning
  • Dr. Ronald Nettles, President, Copiah-Lincoln Community College

    # # #

    The Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.

    News Archive

    Moving Mississippi Forward

    The Pathway to Growth for Our State

    COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

    Allison Bullock
    Social Media Manager
    Telephone: 601.432.6389

    Kim Gallaspy
    Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
    Telephone: 601.432.6493