About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

3/11/2009 - Jackson, Miss.

Interim Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Aubrey K. Lucas today announced the Search Advisory Committees for both the Commissioner of Higher Education and Chancellor of the University of Mississippi searches. Both Search Advisory Committees will assist the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) with its searches for the next Commissioner and Chancellor.

Search Advisory Committee members were chosen based on recommendations by university and community constituencies and reflect key members of the university and System community as well as the public and private sectors. Search Advisory Committee members are charged with identifying and forwarding no less than five of the most capable and qualified applicants and nominees to the Board Search Committees for review. A group of Search Advisory Committee members for each search will also join the Board and participate throughout the entire interview process.

The members of the Search Advisory Committee for the next Commissioner of Higher Education include:

Dr. Robert Khayat, Committee Chair
Chancellor, University of Mississippi

Mr. Mitchell Adcock
IHL Director of Internal Audit

Dr. Jim Borsig
IHL Assistant Commissioner of Governmental Relations

Mr. Van Gillespie
Special Assistant Attorney General

Dr. John Hilpert
President, Delta State University

Dr. Lynn House
IHL Assistant Commissioner of Academic and Student Affairs

Dr. Pat Joachim
Associate Provost, University of Southern Mississippi Gulf Coast

Dr. James E. Keeton
Chief of Staff to the Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs
University of Mississippi Medical Center

Dr. Mark Keenum
President, Mississippi State University

Dr. Claudia Limbert
President, Mississippi University for Women

Dr. Ronald Mason, Jr.
President, Jackson State University

Dr. Linda McFall
IHL Deputy Commissioner of Finance and Administration

Dr. Melissa Mixon
Interim Vice President, Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine
Mississippi State University

Dr. Donna Oliver
President, Mississippi Valley State University

Dr. Phil Pepper
IHL Assistant Commissioner of Research and Planning

Dr. Al Rankins
IHL Director of Academic Affairs

Dr. George E. Ross
President, Alcorn State University

Dr. Martha Saunders
President, University of Southern Mississippi

Mr. Harry Sims
IHL Assistant Commissioner of Real Estate and Facilities

Dr. Reginald Sykes
IHL Assistant Commissioner of Community and Junior College Relations

Ms. Ronjanett Taylor
IHL Director of America Reads-Mississippi

The members of the Search Advisory Committee for the next Chancellor at the University of Mississippi include:

Dr. Alice M. Clark, Committee Chair
Vice Chancellor for Research and Sponsored Programs

Ms. Debbie Binkley
Operations Manager, University Communications

Ms. Yogini Bhavsar
President, Graduate Student Council

Dr. Linda F. Chitwood
Dean of Applied Sciences and Professor of Health, Exercise Science and Recreation Management

Dr. Donald R. Cole
Assistant Provost, Assistant to the Chancellor for Multicultural Affairs, and Associate Professor of Mathematics

Ms. Jan G. Farrington
Representative, University of Mississippi Foundation and University of Mississippi Alumni Association 

Ms. Rose Jackson Flenorl
President, University of Mississippi Alumni Association

Ms. Shellie Harrison
President, University of Mississippi Staff Council

The Honorable Richard Howorth
Mayor of Oxford 

Mr. Will Lewis, Jr.
President, J. E. Neilson Company

Mr. Cal Mayo, Jr., Esq.
Mayo Mallette, PLLC
Representative, University of Mississippi Athletic Foundation

Dr. Susan McClelland
Assistant Professor of Leadership and Counselor of Education

Dr. Timothy Nordstrom
Associate Professor of Political Science and Director of the Social Science Research Laboratory

Mr. Graham Purcell
President, Associated Student Body

Dr. Ronald J. Rychlak
Associate Dean and Professor of Law

Mr. Larry Sparks
Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance

Dr. Helen R. Turner
Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Professor of Medicine
University of Mississippi Medical Center

Dr. Bonnie Van Ness
Chair and Associate Professor of Finance

Dr. Jim Vaughan
Associate Dean of Engineering and Interim Director, Center for Manufacturing Excellence

Dr. Judson Watson
Professor of English

Dr. W. Mark Wilder
Dean of Accountancy and Professor of Accountancy

Mr. Wendell Weakley
President/CEO, University of Mississippi Foundation

Dr. Ethel Young-Minor
Associate Professor of English and African-American Studies

IHL's institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today's recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on either search, including a timeline of events, visit www.mississippi.edu/ieo.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive