

MISSISSIPPI ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES

CONSTITUTION AND BY-LAWS Adopted October 18, 1988 Amended October 29, 1996 Amended October 24, 2006

CONSTITUTION

Article I

Name and Purpose

Section 1. Name. This Association shall be called the Mississippi Association of Colleges and Universities.

Section 2. Purpose. The purpose of this Association shall be to promote communication and good will among all levels and sectors of higher education in Mississippi; to stimulate academic and professional cooperation among the member institutions; to consider common problems; and to pursue those matters of common interest to the membership.

Article II

Membership and Voting

Section 1. Membership. Membership shall be available to those colleges and universities accredited by the Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation, and to the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning, the Mississippi Association of Independent Colleges, and the State Board for Community and Junior Colleges. Associate membership shall be available to those institutions enjoying provisional accreditation under that Council the Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation and by invitation of the Association to institutions not accredited.

Section 2. Voting. Each institution, association and board holding full membership shall have one vote, to be cast by its executive head or by his designee. Representatives of institutions holding associate membership shall have the privileges of the floor at meetings, but shall not have the vote.

Article III

Organization

Section 1. Officers. The officers of the Association shall be a President, a President-Elect, and a Secretary-Treasurer. They shall be chosen at the annual meeting. The President and President-Elect shall not be from the same institution. They shall hold office for one year. The Secretary-Treasurer, who need not be an executive head, may hold office until his/her successor is elected.

The Mississippi Association of Colleges, having been established in 1921 to serve as a forum for planning, communication, and exchange for the regionally-accredited public and private two-and four-year colleges/universities in the state, seeks to uphold and to promote the educational opportunities in all of its sectors of membership. In keeping with this mission, the President of this organization will be rotated in three-year sequences to provide representation from each of the three membership sectors. Beginning in 1996, the sequence for the President-Elect nominee will follow and perpetually repeat this pattern:

- President-Elect from the Community/Junior College Sector
- President-Elect from the Independent Private Sector
- President-Elect from the Public University Sector

Each President-Elect must be the chief executive officer of a regionally-accredited

college/university in his or her sector. In the event the President-Elect cannot host the Annual Junior/Senior College Conference, the Nominating Committee will nominate another representative from that sector.*

Officers of the Association shall serve without pay, but shall be compensated for expenses incurred in the dispatch of their duties, including expenses for transportation, office supplies, and miscellaneous expenses other than those incurred by the officers in attending regular meetings of the Association.

Section 2. Executive Committee. There shall be an Executive Committee composed of the President, President-Elect, Immediate Past President and Secretary-Treasurer.

Section 3. Board of Directors. There shall be a Board of Directors composed of the Executive Committee and one representative elected by the member institutions of the independent college sector, one representative elected by the member institutions of the public community/junior college sector, and one representative elected from the member institutions of the public four-year college and university sector. The term of office for the elected representatives will be three years, staggered so that, for the initial Board of Directors elected at the 1988 annual meeting, the term of the independent college representative will expire at the 1991 annual meeting, the term of the public community and junior college representative will expire at the 1990 annual meeting and the term of the public university representative will expire at the 1989 annual meeting. In the case of any vacancy on the Board of Directors, the remaining directors shall elect a successor to hold office until the next annual meeting when the membership will elect a replacement.

^{*}As amended at a meeting of the Association on October 29, 1996, Mississippi Valley State University.

Article IV

Duties

Section 1. Officers. The duties of the officers shall be such as usually appertain to such offices. The Secretary-Treasurer shall pay out no money except on the written order of the President.

Section 2. Executive Committee. The Executive Committee will perform those duties necessary for conducting the day-to-day responsibilities of the Association.

Section 3. Board of Directors. The Board of Directors will prepare business for the Association, fix the time and place of the annual meeting, call special meetings, and act for the Association in recess. Acts of the Board of Directors will always be subject to the approval of the Association.

Article V

Meetings

There shall be a regular annual meeting held as may be determined by the Board of Directors and such other meetings as the Board of Directors may see fit to call or as the Association may direct. A majority of the members shall constitute a quorum.

Article VI

Membership Fee

To attain and to hold membership or associate membership, each institution, association or board shall pay an annual fee, the amount of the fee to be fixed in the By-Laws.

Article VII

Amendments

The Constitution may be amended at any regular meeting of the Association by a two-thirds majority of official representatives present and voting.

Article VIII

Dissolution

Dissolution, if desired, will be conducted in accordance with Mississippi Code Sections 79-11-335, et. seq.

BY-LAWS

Annual dues* for membership are as follows:

For institutions enrolling:

| 500 or fewer students | \$130 |
|---------------------------------------|--------------|
| 501 - 1,000 students | \$140 |
| 1,001 or more students | \$150 |
| For associations or boards | \$130 |
| For associate institution memberships | \$110 |

The By-Laws of the Association may be amended or new By-Laws adopted at any regular or called meeting of the Association by a majority of official representatives present and voting, provided always that a quorum of the membership is present at such meetings.

^{*}As amended at a meeting of the Association on October 24, 2006, Rust College.