## **SREB CLASSIFICATIONS**

SREB Classification	<b>Description</b>	<u>Institution</u>
Four-Year 1	Institutions awarding at least 100 doctoral degrees that are distributed among at least 10 CIP categories (2-digit classification) with no more than 50 percent in any one category.	Mississippi State University University of Southern Mississippi
Four-Year 2	Institutions awarding at least 30 doctoral degrees that are distributed among at least 5 CIP categories (2-digit classification).	Jackson State University University of Mississippi
Four-Year 3	Institutions awarding at least 100 master's, education specialist, post-master's, or doctoral degrees with master's, education specialist, and post-master's degrees distributed among at least 10 CIP categories (2-digit classification).	
Four-Year 4	Institutions awarding at least 30 master's, education specialist, post-master's, or doctoral degrees with master's, education specialist, and post-master's degrees distributed among at least 5 CIP categories (2-digit classification).	Alcorn State University Delta State University Mississippi Valley State University
Four-Year 5	Institutions awarding at least 30 master's, education specialist, post-master's or doctoral degrees.	Mississippi University for Women
Specialized	Special purpose institutions with specialized degree programs. These may include medical or health science centers and, in some instances stand-alone law schools, fine arts schools, or engineering schools.	University of MS Medical Center

Source: Southern Regional Education Board, December 2012