JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

9/10/2008 - Jackson, Miss.

The Search Advisory Committee for the next president of Mississippi Valley State University (MVSU) met today to review and discuss all candidate resumes for the position. As a result of the meeting, the Committee forwarded its candidate selections, unranked, to the MVSU Board Search Committee for possible interviews. The Search Advisory Committee also elected its representatives to join the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) throughout the entire candidate interview process. In addition to Dr. Moses Newsome, Jr., Vice President, Research, Planning, Community, and Economic Development and Chairman of the Search Advisory Committee, six other members of the Search Advisory Committee have been selected, including: Dr. Gwendolyn Catchings, President of the Faculty Senate and Assistant Professor of Business Administration; Mr. Edgar Bland, Director of Academic Computing Services; Ms. Brandy Brown, Student Government Association President; Ms. Carolyn Upkins, President of the Mississippi Valley State University Alumni Association; Dr. Walter Roberts, President of the Mississippi Valley State University Foundation; and Dr. Abigail Newsome, Director and Assistant Professor of Bioinformatics.

IHL's institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today's recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the Mississippi Valley State University institutional executive officer search process, including a timeline of events, click here.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493