JSU President Search About Contact Careers News
Public Relations

5/28/2008 - Jackson, Miss.

Commissioner of Higher Education Dr. Thomas C. Meredith today announced the members of the Mississippi State University (MSU) Search Advisory Committee. The Search Advisory Committee members will assist the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning (IHL) with its search for the next president of Mississippi State. Search Advisory Committee members were chosen based on recommendations by university constituencies and reflect key members of the university community as well as the public and private sectors. The Mississippi State Search Advisory Committee is charged with identifying the most capable and qualified applicants and nominees to be presented to the Board Search Committee for review. Some Search Advisory Committee members will also participate throughout the interview process with the Board of Trustees.

The Mississippi State University Search Advisory Committee members include:

Dr. Bill Kibler, who will also serve as Committee Chair
Vice President for Student Affairs

Mr. Richard Adkerson
MSU Foundation President

Dr. David Breaux
Department Head and Professor; Political Science and Public Administration

Dr. Susan Bridges
Professor of Computer Science and Engineering

Dr. Shane Burgess
Associate Professor and Director of the College of Veterinary Medicine

Mr. Greg Byrne
Athletic Director

Ms. Beth Clay
Director of the Bulldog Club

Dr. Donna Clevinger
Dean of the Meridian Campus

Ms. Frances Coleman
Dean of MSU Libraries

Mr. Braxton Coombs
President of the MSU Student Government Association

Dr. Linda Cornelious
Professor and Interim Head of Instructional Systems and Workforce Development

Dr. Susan Diehl
Professor of Forest Resources

Mr. David Jones
National President, MSU Alumni Association

Dr. Patricia Knight
Head of the Coastal Research and Extension Center

Dr. Kelly Marsh
Associate Professor of English in the College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Melissa Moore
Associate Professor of Marketing in the College of Business and Industry

Dr. Albert Myles
Professor of Community Resource Development for MSU Extension

Dr. David Nagel
Faculty Senate President and Extension Professor of Horticulture in the Department of Plant and Soil Sciences

Dr. Mark Novotny
Head of the Department of Physics and Astronomy

Ms. Joy Odom
Administrative Assistant and Staff Representative

Dr. Lynne Richardson
Dean in the College of Business and Industry

Ms. Janette Self
Board of Alderman, City of Starkville

Dr. David Shaw
Professor and Director of the GeoResources Institute

Mr. Mark D. Thomas
President of the Graduate Student Association

Dr. James West
Dean of the School of Architecture

Dr. Robert Wolverton
Professor of Foreign Languages in the College of Arts and Sciences

In addition, Dr. Jerry Gilbert, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs at Mississippi State, will serve as IHL’s search liaison throughout the search process.

During its May meeting, the IHL Board of Trustees approved the use of Atlanta-based Baker and Associates, LLC, as the Board’s executive search consultant.

IHL’s institutional executive officer search process allows Mississippi to be on the consideration list of the highest caliber professionals in higher education. The process is open, transparent and representative-based, and works in accordance with today’s recruitment standards for high-level institutions of higher learning. For more information on the Mississippi State University institutional executive officer search process, including a timeline of events, visit the Mississippi State University online search page.

Under the leadership of the Board of Trustees, IHL governs the public universities in Mississippi, including Alcorn State University; Delta State University; Jackson State University; Mississippi State University including the Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; Mississippi University for Women; Mississippi Valley State University; the University of Mississippi including the University of Mississippi Medical Center; and the University of Southern Mississippi.


News Archive

Moving Mississippi Forward

The Pathway to Growth for Our State

COVID-19 (Coronavirau Disease 2019) UPDATE

Allison Bullock
Social Media Manager
Telephone: 601.432.6389

Kim Gallaspy
Assistant Commissioner for Government Relations
Telephone: 601.432.6493