## **2017 Diversity Awards Photos and Cutlines**



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; **and Billy Cummins**, accepting the Community Service Award on behalf of Trustee Karen Cummins (posthumously), who was recognized for her courage, commitment and dedication to diversity, inclusion and creating opportunities for all students.



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; honoree **Dr. Steve Adzanu, Associate Professor of Advanced Technologies and Pre-Engineering;** and Dr. Al Rankins, Jr., President, **Alcorn State University**.



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; honoree **Dr. George Beals, Assistant Professor of Counselor Education and Coordinator/Assessment Director of Counselor Education;** and William LaForge, Jr., President, **Delta State University**.



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; honoree **Dr. Hyun Chong Kim, Professor of Art, College of Liberal Arts;** and Dr. Rod Paige, Interim President, **Jackson State University**.



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; honoree **Dr. Robert Damm, Professor of Music and Director of Music Education Parnterships;** Ra'Sheda Boddie-Forbes, Interim Assistant Vice President for Multicultural Affairs; and Dr. Mark Keenum, President, **Mississippi State University**.



Left to right: Dr. Bill Herndon, Associate Vice President for Agriculture, Forestry, and Veterinary Medicine; Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; honoree Harvin Hudson, Agriculture and Natural Resources Extension Agent, Mississippi State University Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine; and Dr. Mark Keenum, President, Mississippi State University.



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; honoree **Kimone Simmons, Coordinator of Student Engagement, Office of Student Life;** and Dr. Jim Borsig, President, **Mississippi University for Women.** 



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; 2017 Diversity Educator of the Year **Dr. Cassie Sade Turnipseed, Associate Professor of History, Department of Social Sciences**; and Dr. Will Bynum., President, **Mississippi Valley State University**.



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; honoree **Dr. Willa Johnson, Associate Professor of Sociology, Department of Sociology and Anthropology;** and Dr. Jeffrey S. Vitter, Chancellor, **University of Mississippi.** 



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; Dr. Ralph H. Didlake, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, **University of Mississippi Medical Center**; honoree **Dr. Hamed Benghuzzi, Professor of Clinical Health Sciences, School of Health Related Professions**; and Dr. Jeffrey S. Vitter, Chancellor, University of Mississippi.



Left to right: Trustee Shane Hooper, Chair of the Board of Trustees Diversity Committee; honoree **Dr. Mohamed Elasri, Associate Dean and Professor of Microbiology, Department of Biological Sciences,** and Dr. Douglas Vinzant, Vice President for Finance and Administration, **University of Southern Mississippi.**