Education Achievement Council Meeting Monday, October 21, 2024

MINUTES

BE IT REMEMBERED that the Education Achievement Council met in the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning Board Room in Jackson, Mississippi, at 2:00 p.m. on October 21, 2024. Some members and guests participated via zoom, as listed below.

Council Members Present:

Dr. Jay Allen, President, Itawamba Community College, via zoom

Dr. Eileen K. Beazley, Head Start Collaboration Office Director, Governor's Office, via zoom

Dr. Glenn F. Boyce, Chancellor, University of Mississippi, via zoom

Senator Nicole Boyd, Chair, Universities and Colleges Committee

Dr. Adam Breerwood, President, Pearl River Community College, via zoom

Dr. Jerryl Briggs, President, Mississippi Valley State University, via zoom

Mr. Chris Burgio, Campus Director, Concorde Career College, via zoom

Dr. Jason Dean, Executive Director, Mississippi Alliance of Independent Colleges and Universities

Dr. Lance Evans, State Superintendent of Education, Mississippi Department of Education

Ms. Dolly Marascalco, Board Member, Mississippi Community College Board, via zoom

Ms. Vickie Powell, representing Mr. Scott Waller, President and Chief Executive Officer,

Mississippi Economic Council

Dr. Al Rankins, Commissioner of Higher Education, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Mr. Kell Smith, Executive Director, Mississippi Community College Board

Ms. Teresa Webster, Interim President, Mississippi Delta Community College, via zoom

Council Members Absent:

Dr. Tracy Cook, President, Alcorn State University

Senator Dennis DeBar, Chairman, Education Committee

Mr. Glen East, Chair, Mississippi State Board of Education

Senator Briggs Hopson, Chairman, Appropriations Committee

Ms. Teresa Hubbard, Trustee, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Mr. Adam Moore, Director of the Office of Planning and Communications, Mississippi Department of Mental Health

Mr. John Pigott, Chairman, Mississippi Community College Board

Representative Donnie Scoggin, Chairman, Universities and Colleges Committee

Representative John Read, Chairman, Appropriations Committee

Representative Rob Roberson, Chairman, Education Committee

Others Present:

Mr. Henry Anderson, Website and Systems Administrator, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Mr. Jason Carter, Deputy Executive Director for Finance and Administration, Mississippi Community College Board

Dr. Erin Eaton, Assistant Executive Director for Academic and Student Affairs, Mississippi Community College Board

Mrs. Marilyn Gardner, Administrative Assistant for Academic and Student Affairs, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Ms. Mitzi Gendron, Director of Strategic Research, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning Dr. Satya Maddali, Research Analyst for Accountability, Mississippi Community College Board

Ms. Jean Massey, Executive Director, Ascent to 55%

Dr. Laura Mayer, Assistant Commissioner for External Affairs, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Ms. Heather Morrison, Director of P20 Partnerships, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning Dr. Rachel DeVaughan-Partrick, Deputy Executive Director for Programs, Mississippi Community College Board, via zoom

Dr. Marie Roberts, Assistant Director for Communications and Policy Advocacy, Woodward Hines Education Foundation

Ms. Holly Robinson, Lt. Governor's Office

Mr. John Sewell, Director of Communications, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Ms. Leah Smith, Deputy Chief of Staff, Senators Office

Dr. Melissa Temple, Director of Nursing Education, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Dr. Kim Verneuille, Director of the Commission on Proprietary Schools and College Registration, Mississippi Community College Board

Ms. Shanell Watson, Program Office, Woodward Hines Education Foundation

Welcome

EAC Chairman Dr. Jay Allen called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m. He welcomed members of the EAC and all others in attendance to the meeting.

Approval of Agenda

Dr. Allen asked if there were any changes to the agenda. Senator Nicole Boyd moved to approve the agenda as presented. Dr. Al Rankins seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Approval of Minutes

Dr. Allen called for approval of the minutes from the April 22, 2024, meeting. Mr. Kell Smith moved to approve the minutes as presented. Dr. Jason Dean seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Adoption of Annual Report Cards

Mr. Kell Smith, Executive Director, Mississippi Community College Board, presented the annual report cards for the community colleges (Exhibit #1).

Ms. Mitzi Gendron, Director of Strategic Research, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning, presented the annual report cards for the universities (Exhibit #2).

Dr. Jason Dean, Executive Director, Mississippi Alliance of Independent Colleges and Universities presented a report on the degrees awarded by the Mississippi Independent Colleges and Universities for AY 23-24 (Exhibit #3).

Mr. Chris Burgio, Chair of the Mississippi Association of Proprietary Schools and Colleges, presented a report on the degrees awarded by the Proprietary Schools and Colleges for FY 2024 (Exhibit #4).

Mr. Kell Smith moved to adopt the report cards as presented. Dr. Jerryl Briggs seconded the motion. The motion carried.

The report cards will be published on the EAC webpage, www.mississippi.edu/eac by November 1st, as required by statute.

Update on Educational Attainment Goal:

Ms. Jean Massey, Executive Director, Ascent to 55%, gave an update on Ascent to 55%. Since the last EAC meeting, the Mississippi Economic Council (MEC) and AccelerateMS conducted regional Ecosystem listening tours across the state.

In May, Woodward Hines Education Foundation (WHEF) legislative delegation visited with congressional members to discuss Ascent to 55%, Prison Education, and FAFSA.

Moving forward, WHEF and MEC is in the process of planning an Ascent to 55% Convening for October 2025 and will host a "Work Ready Community" meeting on February 11, 2025.

Dr. Marie Roberts, Assistant Director for Communications and Policy Advocacy, WHEF, presented a revised Mississippi Tuition Assistance Grant (MTAG) program called MTAG Works.

MTAG Works will help meet the workforce demand and boost economic growth in line with Mississippi's Ascent to 55% goal (Exhibits#5). MTAG was created in 1995 to help middle-class families, but the program hasn't changed to meet today's needs.

The next meeting of the Education Achievement Council meeting will be determined at a later date.

Adjourn:

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned at 2:45 p.m.