Education Achievement Council Meeting Monday, April 24, 2023

MINUTES

BE IT REMEMBERED that the Education Achievement Council met in the Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning Board Room in Jackson, Mississippi, at 2:00 p.m. on April 24, 2023. Some members and guests participated via zoom, as listed below.

Council Members Present:

Dr. Jay Allen, President, Itawamba Community College Dr. Eileen K. Beazley, Head Start Collaboration Office Director, Governor's Office Dr. Donna Boone, Chief Academic Officer, Mississippi Department of Education Dr. Glenn F. Boyce, Chancellor, University of Mississippi, via zoom Dr. Jerryl Briggs, President, Mississippi Valley State University, via zoom Mr. Chris Burgio, Campus Director, Concorde Career College, via zoom Dr. Jason Dean, Executive Director, Mississippi Association of Independent Colleges and Universities, via zoom Ms. Teresa Hubbard, Trustee, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning, via zoom Dr. Tyrone Jackson, President, Mississippi Delta Community College, via zoom Ms. Dolly Marascalco, Board Member, Mississippi Community College Board, via zoom Mr. John Pigott, Chairman, Mississippi Community College Board, via zoom Ms. Vickie Powell, representing Mr. Scott Waller, President and Chief Executive Officer, Mississippi Economic Council Dr. Al Rankins, Commissioner of Higher Education, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning, via zoom Mr. Kell Smith, Executive Director, Mississippi Community College Board **Council Members Absent:** Ms. Rosemary Aultman, Chair, State Board of Education The Honorable Richard Bennett, Chairman, Mississippi House of Representatives Education Committee

The Honorable Dennis DeBar, Chairman, Mississippi Senate Education Committee

Mr. Tom Duff, Trustee, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Dr. Jim Haffey, President, Holmes Community College

The Honorable Briggs Hopson, Chairman, Mississippi Senate Appropriations Committee The Honorable Mac Huddleston, Chairman, Mississippi House of Representatives Universities and Colleges Committee

Mr. Adam Moore, Mississippi Department of Mental Health

The Honorable Rita Parks, Chairman, Mississippi Senate Universities and Colleges Committee The Honorable John Read, Chairman, Mississippi House of Representatives Appropriations Committee

Others Present:

Mr. Henry Anderson, Website and Systems Administrator, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Mr. Cory Bailey, Admissions Coordinator, Mississippi State University, via zoom

Mr. Tyler Camp, Special Assistant to the President, Itawamba Community College

Mr. Jimmy Clarke, Senior Director of State Policy, HCM Strategists

Ms. Kierstan Dufour, Director of External Training and Partnerships, Woodward Hines Education Foundation

Dr. Erin Eaton, Assistant Executive Director for Academic and Student Affairs, Mississippi Community College Board, via zoom

Mrs. Marilyn Gardner, Administrative Assistant for Academic and Student Affairs, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Ms. Yolanda Houston, Director of MS Consortium for Higher Education in Prisons, Woodward Hines Education Foundation

Ms. Sandra Kelly, Director of Student Services, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning Mr. Jim McHale, President and CEO, Woodward Hines Education Foundation

Ms. Jean Massey, Executive Director, Ascent to 55%

Ms. Heather Morrison, Director of P20 Partnerships, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning Dr. Amber Palmer, Director of Strategic Initiatives, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning

Dr. Angela Payne, Assistant Executive Director for Institutional Research and Effectiveness, Mississippi Community College Board

Dr. Casey Prestwood, Associate Commissioner for Academic and Student Affairs, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning, and EAC Executive Secretary

Dr. Jennifer Rogers, Director of Student Financial Aid, Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning, via zoom

Dr. Kim Verneuille, Director of the Commission on Proprietary Schools and College Registration, Mississippi Community College Board, via zoom

Ms. Shanell Watson, Chief of Staff, Woodward Hines Education Foundation

Welcome

EAC Chairman Dr. Jay Allen called the meeting to order at 2:06 p.m. He welcomed members of the EAC and all others in attendance to the meeting.

Approval of Agenda

Dr. Allen asked if there were any changes to the agenda. Mr. Kell Smith moved to approve the agenda as presented. Ms. Dolly Marascalco seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Approval of Minutes

Dr. Allen called for approval of the minutes from the October 24, 2022, meeting. Mr. Kell Smith moved to approve the minutes as presented. Dr. Casey Prestwood seconded the motion. The motion carried.

FAFSA Update:

Ms. Kierstan Dufour, Director of External Training and Partnerships, Woodward Hines Education Foundation (WHEF), gave an update on the FAFSA changes that will be released December 2023. A copy of the *Top 10 Changes Coming to the Better FAFSA* is attached to these minutes.

Update on Educational Attainment Goal:

Ms. Jean Massey, Executive Director, Ascent to 55%, gave an update on the Ascent to 55% challenges for Mississippi. Currently, Mississippi's attainment rate is 48.5 percent. The state is working toward an attainment goal of 60 percent for adults ages 25-64 by 2035. By 2025, 60 percent of adults in the United States will need some quality credential beyond high school. To count toward that goal, any credential must have clear and transparent learning outcomes that lead to further education and employment. A copy of the Ascent to 55% Challenge is attached to these minutes.

To reach state goals, the state will not only have to maintain current attainment rates but also significantly increase the number of people who are enrolled in programs and earn all types of credentials beyond high school.

Over the past year, the Mississippi Economic Council (MEC) and AccelerateMS conducted eight regional Ecosystem listening tours to gather essential information to help form the strategic plan for Mississippi's Ascent to 55% initiative. A copy of the Listening Tour Key Takeaways is attached to these minutes.

College and Career Readiness:

At the EAC meeting held on October 24, 2022, Dr. Allen assigned a P20 Taskforce charged with creating a college and career readiness definition for Mississippi. Members of the taskforce included K-12, Community Colleges, Institutions of Higher Learning, Ascent to 55%, CREATE Foundation, and AccelerateMS.

Ms. Heather Morrison asked Mr. Cory Bailey, Chair of the P20 Taskforce, to share the results from various meetings that have taken place.

Mr. Bailey stated the members of the P20 Taskforce met and felt a need to include additional members to serve on the taskforce. The next meeting will be held in May at Woodward Hines Education Foundation building. At that meeting, the members will work on creating a clear definition for Mississippi that will be reviewed over the summer.

The goal is to present a recommendation to the EAC at the October 23, 2023, meeting.

Adjourn:

There being no further business the meeting was adjourned.