

# Mississippi Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning Black History Month 2012 Recognition



# **Black History Month Community Leader Honoree**

Awarded Posthumously to Gwendolyn A. Magee (1943-2011), accepted by her husband, Dr. D.E. Magee, Jr.

# From left to right:

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Dr. D.E. Magee, Jr.



# **Black History Month Educator of the Year**

- Dr. Martha Saunders, President, University of Southern Mississippi
- Dr. Kim M. LeDuff, Associate Professor and Associate Director, School of Mass Communication and Journalism, University of Southern Mississippi
- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee



# **Alcorn State University Honoree**

#### From left to right:

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Dr. Ruth R. Nichols, Senior Director of Community Outreach and Partnership Development, Alcorn State University
- Dr. Christopher M. Brown II, President, Alcorn State University



# **Delta State University Honoree**

#### From left to right:

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Dr. Vicki N. Webster, Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems, Delta State University
- Dr. Ann C. Lotven, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Delta State University



#### **Jackson State University Honoree**

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Dr. Mohammad Shahbazi, Professor and Chair, Department of Behavioral and Environmental Health and Director of Global Community Health Worker Training and Public Health Certification Program, Jackson State University
- Dr. Carolyn Meyers, Jackson State University



#### Mississippi State University Honoree

# From left to right:

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Dr. Robert J. Damm, Professor of Music, Mississippi State University
- Dr. Mark Keenum, President, Mississippi State University



# Mississippi State University, Division of Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine, Honoree <u>From left to right:</u>

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Dr. Mark L. Lawrence, Associate Dean and Professor, College of Veterinary Medicine, Mississippi State University
- Dr. Gregory Bohach, Vice President for Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine, Mississippi State University



Mississippi University for Women Honoree

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Dr. Phillip Cockrell, Director of Student Life, Mississippi University for Women
- Dr. Jim Borsig, President, Mississippi University for Women



# Mississippi Valley State University Honoree

Dr. Barbara Washington, Associate Professor of English, Mississippi Valley State University (award accepted by MVSU President on honoree's behalf)

# From left to right:

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Dr. Donna H. Oliver, President, Mississippi Valley State University



# **University of Mississippi Honoree**

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Ms. Janice W. Murray, Professor of Art and Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts, University of Mississippi
- Dr. Dan Jones, Chancellor, University of Mississippi



# **University of Mississippi Medical Center Honoree** *From left to right:*

- Trustee Bob Owens, Co-Chair, Diversity Committee
- Dr. Loretta Jackson-Williams, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, The University of Mississippi Medical Center
- Dr. James Keeton, Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine, University of Mississippi Medical Center